In loving memory of my husband’s loving grandma…

When I was first introduced to Richard’s family I was sure most people felt he shouldn’t be marring someone who had already been in one failed marriage. I knew from what Richard told me that his aunt and uncle (on his dad’s side) would greet me with open arms, but he never said how his grandma would react. I also knew he had told her we were engaged before we went up there to see her for the first time.  I knew she was interested in meeting me, but that was all I knew.

When we arrived up there Richard called her to let her know we were there, his aunt and uncle had not arrived yet. She met us at the door. She stayed inside the apartment, moved her walker over to the side and said some of the kindest words I have ever heard spoken, and they were to my daughters. “I never thought I would live to see me great-grandchildren and here you both are.” She gave them each a big hug and said, “I love you both.” Then she invited us all in. She hugged me as I walked in and it looked like she had tears of joy in her eyes. She thanked me for coming up with the girls and told me how truly happy she was to meet all three of us. She let me know that she never thought Richard would get married, but she was very happy that he was going to be, and that she was extremely happy about the girls. We talked for only a little while before his other family showed up. I think it was the nicest meeting of strangers that there ever was. I walked away knowing that the girls and I were not just going to be part of their loving family but that we already were considered a part of that loving family. She made me feel very happy that day and when we left, the girls and I talked Richard’s ear off the entire way home about how perfect they all were.

When she saw the baby for the first time, the baby was a few months old (Grandma lived about a 2 hour drive away). I wish she could have seen her sooner. Anyway, her hands shook with delight as I placed the little pink bundle in grandma’s lap. Grandma’s eye watered again with tears of joy. And we took about 500 pictures. I think the sweet lady told us “thank you” and “I love you all” about a million times that day.

I feel so blessed that I got to know his grandmother. She was, and still is, loved by everyone in my home. Richard and I will keep her alive as best we can in stories to our children and any grandchildren we are blessed with. I make sure I do that with my grandma and grandpa on my dad’s side and my very wonderful aunt (who was my grandpa’s sister on my mother’s father’s side). Sadly none of the children got to meet any of them, I’m glad these three lucky girls got to meet this lovely lady.

Grandma Winters left us, with just a little warning, a week ago today. We miss her very much already and wished we saw her more than we did.

Note ~ Sorry there are no cute pictures or funny jokes with this blog and sorry I’ve missed the last month. Not everything going on in my life has been bad. Around Christmas I will HOPEFULLY share some great news with everyone. Hug those you love and tell them too. You can never say, “I love you” too much. 🙂

2 Responses to In loving memory of my husband’s loving grandma…

  1. From the bottom of my heart please accept my condolences for the passing of your grandmother-in-law, Sarah, to you, your husband and your family! Sounds like she had a lot of heart …just like you.

    • sarahwinters says:

      Thank you. She was a wonderful lady and I wish I would have known her longer than rear 9 years. Thank you VERY much. Your little DM on Twitter helped to push me to write this — something I felt needed to be written.

Leave a Reply

