Sorry Lord, for these screw-ups you are about to receive…

(Note ~ This is a little out of my comfort zone but still wanted to share.)

There are times as a parent were we are floating on cloud nine, on top of the world,  thinking that, although we may not be perfect, we’ve done a fairly good job.  After all, one of the kids made Dean’s List, the other was given a blue ribbon in science, and the baby is starting to talk. Ahhh, all is right.

And then someone comes along and bursts our bubble (usually one of our kids).

I think I need to say this first…  We are not the most religious family. My oldest has read the Bible all the way though, we believe in God, doing what’s right, the Ten Commandments, the Golden Rule, and so on… (Don’t worry, I don’t get preachy!)

When my 14 year old was little she used to think that God was a sweet and loving puppy. Really, but we fixed that and all was well….. or so I thought.

My oldest explained her take on God  —
Apparently, God was a little kid when He invented dinosaurs.  He was young, enjoyed toys and liked to play.  So why not make and play with dinosaurs like most young boys? (It does not end here!)
She went on saying that when God was about 10-12, He was starting to grow up.  He still liked to play but not with ‘little boys toys’ He wanted woolly mammoths, saber-toothed tigers, and other furry but cool toys. (I’m now starting to really worry.)
Next God was a teen – we are THE teenage mistake; the one big, one that all teenagers make, the one that comes in a large range of major blunders.  The human race is the big blunder and He’s just sitting back wondering if He should start all over with something more adult.

I’m glad my daughter can talk so openly with me. Yes, we talked and talked and talked about the Bible and everything.  I’m still wondering if I should have her go to church with her grandma on Sunday… maybe we all should go?

6 Responses to Sorry Lord, for these screw-ups you are about to receive…

  1. LOL I love that the kids think God created everything to satisfy his boredom. That would really explain a lot to me. I’ve always wondered about things like that. 🙂

  2. ROTFL! That is so cute. With all that we screw up I can see why she would think we were a mistake. 😉 At least she has put a lot of thought into the subject.

  3. Molly says:

    HI! I stumbled across your blog via a friend’s twitter, and I just wanted to share my similar story. Our family’s religious thoughts seem very similar to yours, in that we believe in God etc. but don’t really attend church regularly. Last Easter my six year-old didn’t really understand what it was about, so I launched into this long, rambling explanation, finishing up with, “and then after three days, Jesus rose from the dead.”

    She stared at me. “Rose from the dead?”

    “Yes.” I said, “He came back to life.”

    More staring, now looking faintly horrified, “You mean, like a zombie?”

    Yes, that’s right. I have so completely failed at parental religious instruction that my six-year-old daughter thinks Easter is the story of how Our Lord Jesus Christ became a zombie. Yikes.

    • sarahwinters says:

      Hi Molly, I’m glad you found this blog. 😀
      I did a real “LOL” when I read that… in truth I’m still giggling. I love the way little ones think and your daughter’s is great, but oh so sad, Jesus the Undead. EEK! I really hope you were able to ‘fix’ this and she doesn’t scare the other kids in school. 🙂
      I am sooooo glad you shared your story!

Leave a Reply

