The day I made peace with pink…

I’ve never thought pink looked good on a guy; come to think of it I’ve never thought pink looked good on anyone.  I’ve disliked pink since I was a little girl and forced to wear pink… a lot.

When I was a baby my mom loved to put me in pink.

When I was 4 my mom and Grandma loved to put me in pink…

When I was 7 they put me in pink…

I was never going to buy pink for my girls.  I dressed my oldest in a lot of boy’s clothes to get away from pink.  I did the same with my middle daughter.  Still pink seemed to win. So I gave up and when I had my youngest I let pink in the house and pretended I didn’t care…

But yesterday I saw pink in a whole other light.  My husband had been playing with the baby and I was listening from the office.  I heard
silence and I went to see if all was well…

Pink never looked so good on a man…

12 Responses to The day I made peace with pink…

  1. sarahwinters says:

    I know I’m not an artist, but I just had a little bit of a desire to draw so I went with it. 😛 Sorry it sucks.

  2. Alissa says:

    Sarah, I don’t think this sucks at all. I love it! Also, I have to say that I have a niece that’s just like you. She’s very anti-pink. Though, she does have a pair of pink cowboy boots that she loves. Go figure. I once had a bedroom that was literally filled with pink flamingos, so I guess I’ve always been a bit of a pink fan!

  3. sarahwinters says:

    Alissa, THANK YOU sooo much! 😀 I had fun doing it, although I think I’m a little better at painting with words… I hope I am anyway. 😀
    I had a shirt when I was pregnant with my little one that was pink and it read, “TEAM PINK… again.” That’s been all the pink I can handle. My middle daughter seems a little like you, except replace pink flamingos with pink dragons. Her room is panted in ‘Hopeful’ the same color as all the pink ribbons for breast cancer awareness. She *loves* pink! I just don’t have the same love, growing up everything I had was pink… EVERYTHING!!! I got sick of it. I think I’m getting a little better with the color though. 🙂

  4. This is a story that you might not be able to tell without such illustrations to go with it; especially the ending. They add so much emotion and nuance.

    • sarahwinters says:

      Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 And double thanks, if I would have never found your page I would have *never* started to draw again (minus character sketches). I *LOVE* what you do! You are an inspiration to us all. 🙂 Thank you, JC!
      Sarah

  5. bonzoWhale says:

    D’aww! This is awesome! =)

  6. Carmen says:

    Awwwwww”……….. LOVE IT! My husband and I were just having a heart to heart and even though initially we wanted a boy…… Our daughter has been the most wonderful gift from God! I would not change a thing!

    • sarahwinters says:

      Awwwwwww! I once read that the best thing about little girls are they never out grow a hug. 🙂
      I understand, growing up I always thought that I’d have boys and then to have 3 girls??? And I’m not a girly-girl, but I love them all, even with their pinknesseseseseses. 🙂

  7. Pingback: My hot and sexy gloves… « Sarah Winters' Blog

Leave a Reply

