Trying to avoid those little things in life…

We all have people we want to avoid.  Sometimes we get lucky and they want to avoid us too. Other times those little pests search us out, they like to crawl under our skin, stalk us, lie in wait and attack.  These vermin can be from all walks of life.  They can be old friends, ex’s, neighbors, family members, or people we’ve never met in person but we all have them.  Being in a world were advertising on the web is the best way to have sales, and make friends, makes us all more vulnerable to these little pests finding us, stalking us, and damaging us.  Even sadder still, there are reasons we avoid them… usually they clash with who we are, what we do, the things we like, and sometimes we clash because their end goal is to hurt us in many ways.  If no one can tell I have one.  I do all I can to avoid them, but they have been hurting the family that I love with my more personal posts.  So I am writing this because I really like my readers, my fellow authors, and my new found friends but I am going to be more cautious.  I’m going to blog less about my personal life.  I’m going to not share so much on Twitter and FB either.  I am going to study the people I chat with a little more carefully before I get to that level of chatting.  This is all in the hopes that they will leave me in peace.  Because peace is all I want and all I have ever tried for.   I enjoy you my friends, my author family, and I am sorry I never wanted to have to do this.  I never wanted them to have this control.

4 Responses to Trying to avoid those little things in life…

  1. Alissa says:

    Sarah, I’m sorry to hear this. I’ve been where you’ve been myself. Years ago, I let someone like this stop me form blogging altogether. I’m glad you still be blogging, but I definitely understand having to be more guarded about things. It’s just a shame that there are people like this out there.

    • sarahwinters says:

      I am sooooo sorry, Alissa. This is not a fun place to be and just because you write and/or blog doesn’t mean anyone has the right to make you feel like you should walk away. I don’t understand why anyone would be happy making someone else miserable, and for you to feel like you had to shut it all down… 😦 I thought about doing that, but I want to write and blog and I just don’t want them to have any more power over me, I’m already stopping some. I feel like they’re already hurting my business enough. Writing is our business, and it’s more than just a job it is a career. At first I thought maybe they didn’t understand this, now I know that that is their motive… to hurt me and my business. Thank you for showing me by being on the web now, that it will get better. 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear this, Sarah. This is something we all hope will not happen to us while we’re in the blogging world. I hope things get better. 🙂

    • sarahwinters says:

      Thank you, Michelle. I just plan on doing this for as long as I have too. At some point I’ll poke my head out again, if it’s fired at I’ll know it’s not safe, but if it’s not I might try to come out from my shelter with caution. I like sharing who I am and everything. I enjoy blogging, after all it is writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

