This is for everyone out there to know…

So far I know a few people who have had their e-mail hacked this summer and they are unable to log in at all.  If you receive an e-mail titled, “I NEED YOUR URGENT HELP!!!” more than likely you have been sent an e-mail from an account that is under someone else’s control.  DO NOT RESPOND.  If you do open it, this is more than likely what you will read…

“I’m sorry for this odd request and I’m writing this with tears in my eyes,I came down here to London,England  for a short vacation and i was mugged at gun point last night at the park of the hotel where i lodged all cash,credit cards and cell were stolen off me.

I am even owing the hotel here,the hotel manager won’t let me leave until i settle the hotel bills now am freaked out.So i have limited access to emails for now, please i need you to lend some money so i can make arrangements and return back I am full of panic now,the police only asked me to write a statement  about the incident and directed me to the embassy,i have spoken to the embassy here but they are not responding to the matter effectively, I will refund the money back to you as soon as i get home, I am so confused right now and thank God i wasn’t injured because I complied immediately.

I await your response”

If this was really from my mother or my husband’s co-worker, they would have made sure to fill in where the hotel was, if it was my mom she wouldn’t have left while my grandpa was having eye surgery, there would be a hotel phone number to call, and my mother is a grammar Nazi, so this sure isn’t her.  Oddly both of these people are teachers…

Anyway, I wish you all good luck and if you come in contact with this e-mail let the person who has been hacked know about it, just not via e-mail.

2 Responses to This is for everyone out there to know…

  1. Alissa says:

    Thanks for the tip. I haven’t gotten any strange emails lately, but I have in the past. Oh, and at least twice have had my Twitter account hacked.

    • sarahwinters says:

      No problem. 🙂
      I’m sorry about the Twitter thing. I’ve heard a number of people complain about Twitter accounts being a problem with hackers. It’s so frustrating. I’ve been very lucky so far.
      It’s very upsetting and aggravating to know that a few people I know have had this exact e-mail happen to them, meaning from their accounts. With any luck it will stop soon. I really hope no one falls for this. Who knows how much money they are trying to steal. 😦

Leave a Reply

