Vampires don’t die…

I’ve been reading a lot of media lately that has made it sound like vampires are dead.  Well, the living dead maybe, but the truth is vampires just don’t die… at least not in literature or in films.  Sometimes they seem to take a nap, or not be as noticed, but over all people love them.  With a number of reasons why… There is a ‘what if’ feeling when we read about them, “What if that were me?”  There is a mystery to them, “What is their past?”  “How long have they lived?”  There is a small little mischievous wish and hope for them to be real just like there is to be turned into one.  “That would be cool, but I wouldn’t want to be their snack.”  The angelic side of everyone says, “I would never want to be one.”  And there is the disobedient side that smiles at the thought, “I would be different.  I would be nice… nice and very well off.”  Lets face it, that’s one of the drawing points to them is the idea of everlasting wealth, that and the whole not aging thing.  The wealth is just a bonus, because if one only needs to drink blood and not much can do physical harm, or cause illness to them, what does one really need cash for?  All of that money would go to play.  These are the points that draw a large amount of us to these creatures of the night.  Yes, the inability to have babies, some sunlight might be bad, maybe no reflection, and/or having an odd fear of religious symbols have drawbacks.  But when it’s looked at as a whole, never being sick again, staying young, no more blemishes, money and gold, power to control or manipulate, everlasting life, still looking normal, and/or having an awesome ability, who cares if the local village is a little nervous when you’re around.  Truthfully, I wouldn’t want to sparkle… ever (but that’s only one author’s view point), I could never take another person’s life, and I would miss my family, but to be able to sit and dream through a book or movie what I would be like as an immortal, well, I will never be tired of that.  I know I’m not alone.  Reading and watching about vampires is one of America’s favorite pastimes.  Thanks to Halloween, there is even a time of year that helps to keep them living even though they are dead.

7 Responses to Vampires don’t die…

  1. Robyn says:

    I have always loved vampires and will always love reading vampires :).

  2. Alissa says:

    I once dated someone who really, really wished he was a vampire. I think he was most drawn to the idea of eternal youth and always looking perfect – he could be quite vain. Me, I’m quite happy being a flawed human being. That said, I have to agree that vampires will never go out of vogue.

    • sarahwinters says:

      I really think there are a bunch of people out there with that desire. My best friend in high school wanted to become one after she read a ton of Anne Rice books. I love to day dream, but I know I wouldn’t truly like to be one.
      Sarah

  3. Trickiling says:

    when you said sparkle, I know you watched Twilight,
    I didn’t watch that movie but it’s the biggest feature of it.

    well, one part of this talk is about become a vampire and always being young and immortal, but what if any vampire embrace you when you’re an old man/woman?
    Now, what about Nosferatus? Did you know them?
    Ones again all of you watched many times Interview with the vampire and twilight.

    Vampires are undead, there’s not cure, if you were embraced then, you’re a living dead.

    Yes, vampires no longer have interest in food, sex and love
    blood is all for them, in vampire societies get money is used to survive as any human to buy necessary stuff for their activities. I’m basing my vision in all of that Vampire The Masquerade represent and tell, the best story and universe about vampires.

    • sarahwinters says:

      Just to let you know, I’ve never seen Twilight, but as you pointed out ‘sparkaling vampires’ are the most notorious part of the book and movie. I’ve never read the book either. I did however, skim through the forth book. I found that her writing style was not one I enjoyed. I skimmed through it because I needed to sign a waver for my daughter to have it read to her in her 6th grade class. I understood that the author had some inconsistency in her writing but I can’t say. Like I said, I’ve never read the book. My husband did to get it approved for his library and to be in the ‘now’ with his high school students.
      I am a very big Vampire The Masquerade fan. This is where I was first inspired. When I was 18 (about 17 years ago) I saw that the Toreador were entranced by beauty, the Vertrue by money and power, the Malkavian by insanity, Brujah by rage, Nosferatu by hate and vengeance, and so on, this made me think that there is so much more to vampires than just a constant bloodthirsty crazed being like I saw in Ravenloft. I do like that part and we will see this side of them in some of my future books, not in my first one. In my first book I wanted the reader to think about who they are and what they would be like as a vampire. What human characteristics of theirs would pass over? In this blog I was standing up for vampire fans. This is for those of us who will still read vampire novels even when they are not trendy.
      Thanks for commenting,
      Sarah

    • sarahwinters says:

      I’m sorry I did forget to answer your questions. Yes, when I’ve role-played I’ve used very old and very young as players. Part of the Giovanni family/ clan. And as for the twisted poor Nosferatu, yes I have. And in Vampire the Masquerade I do feel the most pity for all of his early children; the ones that had to go through the transformation after they had been vampires for a long time. I felt their curse was unfair.
      In my book I also have characters who are old and young and ones who were disfigured before they were turned. There are laws, no Nosferatu though; Because I did not rip my book off… Vampire the Masquerade just made me see all the different ways things could happen in a vampire world… I saw structure where there had been none, I saw personality, not just an empty bloodsucker, I saw more…
      And I’m sorry this took so long to get too. I had a baby so I took maternity leave from blogging, Tweeting, Facebook-ing but not writing.
      Sarah

Leave a Reply

