Books for the library…

I know, my bad.  I have not blogged in over a week.  I apologize.

My husband and I were talking about books for his library.  We donate an average of a book a week during the school year.  With how little money his library gets for books now we have to.  But we don’t donate to the other libraries as often.  This came up when I told him that I was going to donate Something Greater Than Fear by Christy Condoleo to my youngest daughter’s school.  We decided that this year, once a month, we will give one new book to either the public library or my daughter’s school library.  So in January we will be giving Something Greater Than Fear to her school, but I’m undecided for February.
I will pick lesser known books by lesser known authors.  This means I wouldn’t give books by J.K. Rowlings, S. King, S. Meyer, or anyone that I know the library has already.  I’ll be picking books from authors that are just getting a start or need a little boost.  I will pick some that I have read and some that I haven’t.  I’ll choose some that are requested by friends, followers on twitter, in my blog comments, my children, my husband, and some that I just like.  Twelve books a year are not a lot but if we all helped out our local libraries it will make a big deference.  I know that the people who read my blog are readers and writers so I’m aware that most already help out with their local reading circles.
Please, if you have any requests you can ask here or let me know on twitter.  The books I donate will be new and if possible hardback so they can survive the constant wear and tear of a full-blown circulated library workout.

Oh, and if you haven’t seen Christy’s new book here is a link. http://www.lulu.com/content/paperback-book/something-greater-than-fear/7968097   The art is lovely, the story is great, and it’s perfect for 3 to 6 year olds, boys and girls, mice lovers and owl lovers.  Great job Christy!

I also wanted to give a shout out to another person.  There is a friend I follow on Twitter and I read her blog.  She is as sweet and as friendly as a person can be.  Every Tuesday she makes a post on her blog about a different author.  I was honored and very flattered that I was one of the lucky ones she picked.  Thank you Heather!  She is working on getting published and getting her name out there, two of the hardest and most challenging things to do.  Here is a link to her blog http://heathermccorkle.blogspot.com/ .  She’s wonderful.

4 Responses to Books for the library…

  1. Heather says:

    You’re so sweet! I’m all teared up, in a good way! 🙂 And I love your books for the library idea, very inspiring!

    • sarahwinters says:

      Awww, I didn’t mean to make you tear up but I’m glad it’s in a good way. 🙂 Just don’t be surprised if I get stuck on which book to pick out for donating to a library and I have to ask for suggestions.

  2. Chris says:

    Totally love that idea and I’m so happy/honored that you picked one of my books to be a part of such a great idea! Thank you! It’s exciting to know that it will be available for a bunch of children to read!! I think it’s a wonderful way to not only help libraries but self pub’ers!

    • sarahwinters says:

      You’re welcome Christy. 🙂 Our libraries here in CA are losing so much funding and hours. They need the help. And anyone and everyone in the writing world needs help these days.

Leave a Reply

