But is it worth it…

The PSA thing could have gone a little better, but everything got worked out in the end.  I guess my PSA is on maternity leave and another lady is taking her workload and well… it just got a little confusing.  It seems to all be fine now and everything is ok.  At least I expected a few bumps in the road.

Now on to the next part, this is where I’m going “Oh crap, what do I do?”  Marketing!  There is a ton of different options in the marketing area.  You could spend $100,000 here easy and still want to get a few more things.  This is a hard area.  I was thinking of spending another $600 to $1,000, which I could make in 1 large payment or over 4 monthly smaller payments.  I could do that, but then there is this package that I was told about by my Senior Market Consultant.  It’s lovely and it cost $3,000 which is more than we planned on.  But it is perfect.  But ouch! I don’t know if we can take another hit of that much cash, and the truth is, I don’t know if I’m worth it.  If so, my book would come to near $10,000, maybe over.  I would have to look over everything again to see exactly how much.  I felt the edit was worth it, I felt the proofread was a must, and I know this book won’t sale itself, but is this worth it?

Here is the link so you can view and judge…

http://www.iuniverse.com/Servicestore/ServiceDetail.aspx?ServiceId=BS-5001

Yes, I do want it.  I’m not saying that.  It would be sweet if I could have it.  But can we do it?  This one I just don’t know.  I know if we did, I would have to wait until after Christmas to do it.  That’s a fact.  I know I should sleep on the idea first anyway.  But can I ask my family to be broke for another 4 months because of me and my book?  Because that is what it would come down to.  We would be very broke, nothing in the house could break, but we could do it.  It would just be very very very very very very tight.  And the payments would be $749 a month for 4 months… ouch and *deep breath*

My wonderful husband is leaving this up to me, but I don’t know if I want that kind of weight that comes with that kind of “do what you want” gift…

2 Responses to But is it worth it…

  1. Hmm, definitely a ‘sleep on it’ type dilema. Whatever you decide though, you must have faith in your book-think or your characters and the story line you put together. Everytime I feel low and not good enough, I think of how I would feel to give them up–then I sit back down and continue.

    Marketing is one of the hardest parts of self publishing. There are a few things you can do to draw attention to your book on your own. Contact the local newspaper & let them know they have a local author that has just published her first novel. Go around and visit the bookstores-see if you can have a signing there (I know of one author who got her books into B&N just by asking the manager). Make certain you sign up for any local festivals or celebrations. Depending on your book’s age range, you could contact the appropriate school (either elementary, middle, or high school) and the local library to see if you could have a book signing/reading there-offer to donate a book. Of course there are tons of sites on the internet to promote your book as well.

    Here’s a site to check out-I get their magazine(?) quarterly and it has a lot of marketing opportunities… http://bookmarketingprofits.com/ I haven’t tried any yet but I have been thinking to (once I can afford to).

    Don’t give up on your book even if you can’t afford the marketing plan. It may be harder but there are ways. Maybe later on you can get a package if you still want one.

    • sarahwinters says:

      Thank you, Christy!
      We have an Irish Fair once a year that I will most definitely be there for! And I’ll get a hold of the local paper and see if they can at least post an article online. Thank you for all the wonderful advice. I appreciate it very much.
      You’re right… I have grown to enjoy and like the characters in my story very much. The storyline is all there with the 2nd book fully written and the 3rd nearing 1/2 way. They are wonderful and fun and sometimes the story will just float somewhere I didn’t ever see it going… I wouldn’t ever want to give up on them. 😀
      Thank you for the site, I have saved it in favorites. And I was going to share with you a couple I was just told to use by my Marketing Consultant… Shelfari.com, and Goodreads.com. He said those are also 2 that I should join. But that Facebook is the best. I need to get better with it then.
      Thank you again,
      Sarah

Leave a Reply

