WOW, What a week…

I have been over at my grandparents a number of times to see family.  I have gone over Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday… sadly I could not go Friday (today) or Wednesday, I had job related phone calls.  I am very much not sad over the calls!  Very happy, very very very happy!  Great phone calls!  😀  I will be published soon, I hope.  It will be with a self-publisher.  It is so crazy.  I have read some awful books that made it to being published traditionally and I have read some slow books, mediocre books, which have also been published traditionally.  Then I have read some so-so books that have become great hits… none of this makes sense to me.  It should not be that hard to get published traditionally.  Oh well, a number of authors/books have started with being self-published and here I go… I hope that I can make it starting this route.

My editorial evaluation had some highs, mediums, and lows.

The highs ~
The story was believable
The story line was very good and worked well
There is lots of potential for my book

The mediums ~
It was a leisurely read (but has everything there to make it more exciting)
It was enjoyable
Two of the characters were very exciting and enjoyable

The lows ~
They wanted to change my main character and make her something she is not
I messed up on presenting one part of my story and made a character look like an idiot
I used too many modern terms (that I did try to avoid) “Barf” and “Humongous” were two of them

It is extremely hard to see the evaluation in its real light, at first all the negatives jumped out and attacked, then the emotional room was not as dark as it once appeared and I could see that they wrote that the story was good, the book was good.  I was not just attacked, nor was my story.  They actually said in the over-all report that my book was good.  I have always tried to be very good about taking constructive criticism.  But when you read something as blunt as an editorial evaluation it’s a little harder than you would think.  I thought before I saw it, I can take anything.  If they say my book is junk I can deal with it… but they don’t.  Their bluntness is in minute details.  It is their job to nit pick.  If they do not like something you have to swallow that large pill without a glass of water while having cotton-mouth and hear the details of why.  I did know this before I did it, but I did not expect any problems where they were and a few where there was none.

I did learn a lot and am still learning.  They wanted this story to be everything that the second book is, and that was great to hear, because I enjoyed the first book the most and was a little worried about number two.  That was a major plus to me, the only problem is they want this character to be everything that a different one is in number two!  Of course the second book is still in rough draft form and not ready yet. 

Another wonderful thing was my husband’s help editing was great!  He told me to add more detail and he was right.  He enjoyed that it was leisurely at times, he like the main character, so he would not have wanted me to change her, and he liked the climatic points as well (there was no complaint from anyone about the climactic points just that their needed to be a least one more.)  He reminded me that theirs was just an opinion, but that his opinion was a little different.  He did agree however with a few minor things that were pointed out that neither he nor I saw… “Barf” and “Humongous” were two of them.

I really want to share with everyone my experience.  I will keep everyone posted.  Good or bad I will share it like I have shared the negative of my book evaluation.  It will be fixed so I am not worried, but I will share as much as I can.

Leave a Reply

