Do tell…

I am writing about vampires (as about half of America is also doing.)  I love vampire stories.  I have since I was a kid.  I remember my dad letting me see Dracula with Bella Lugosi and I was just wowed by him in anything horror.  Dracula was on late night TV and it was black and white, I did not complain, I just watched it and was freaked out but not scared.  I thought the black and white color made it even more suspenseful.  Then, when Bram Stoker’s Dracula came out (I was a teen), I watched that thing 100 times, then I saw Dead and Loving It and watched that about 1000 times.  It’s funny because I am not a blood person.  I hate a ton of blood but I can see anything vampire, read anything vampire and I am just fine.  I should say almost anything.  I just couldn’t watch The Little Vampire… I thought about it, but I can’t.  Although I have seen Monster Squad more times then any adult should admit.  Luckily, I have an excuse that one did come out when I was a kid.

I have also read a number of vampire books and have enjoyed how everyone views them.  In role playing (yes, I know dorky) there is also a difference between Ravenloft and Masquerade… there is always a difference in vampires, it makes writing, reading, playing (both role playing and video games like Kain and BloodRayne are very different) and watching vampire movies is so much fun.  Who is right and who is wrong?  How do you see vampires?  Are your vampires three witch-like women with lovely bodies and a taste for human blood?  Is there only Dracula?  Do you like that Forever Knight type good vampire, or the Buffy and Angel relationship, or do you go for the cold, uncaring Underworld vampire?  Do your vampires sparkle in the sun or are they only half-vampire/half-man and killing off all the rest of the vampire race?  Do your vampires turn to dust in the sun, can they transform into bats?  Do your vampires drink human or animal blood?

In just the essence of Vampires, there is something romantic, frightening, and mysterious about them… they can make fiction fun.

Leave a Reply

